Our bumpy journey – Sarah Knott

Sarah Knott picSarah is our very first Blogs For Babies contributor! She is a 26 year old mum-to-be, currently 32 weeks pregnant with her first child. Sarah is originally from Scotland but grew up in the Middle East and Holland and now lives in London, where she works in the international division of a retail head office. She is married to a Royal Navy sailor and is obsessed with cats!

Sarah blogs at theknottbump.blogspot.co.uk

I decided to come off the contraceptive pill in September 2012, two months after we got married in August. If he’d had his way, the husband would have had us trying earlier – he was the broodiest man alive! I suffered from anorexia as a teenager, and into my early twenties, and had been made aware that my hormone levels might have been affected as a result. The fact I’d been on the pill on and off for ten years was in the back of my mind as I wasn’t sure how much of an effect that would have had too.

Even though I knew my hormone levels might be affected, nothing could prepare me for how messed up my cycles became. The first cycle was over 100 days and the symptoms of coming off the pill mirrored early pregnancy symptoms, which was bizarre – nausea, dizziness, sore boobs, etc. I had read that you should give your body a few cycles to get back into the swing of things before trying properly. My problem was I wasn’t really having cycles. They just went on and on with no signs of ovulation and it became the most frustrating thing trying to figure out what was going on.

I was reluctant to go to the doctors because of my age (25 at the time) as I felt that I wouldn’t be taken seriously. I investigated a little online and decided to try some herbal remedies – mainly agnus cactus and evening primrose oil. These didn’t seem to do much for me and I tried tracking my basal body temperature instead. That was all over the place and didn’t tell me anything either. I also invested in a digital fertility monitor from Clearblue but there was no pattern in terms of fertility readings.

After a couple more months I relented and went to my GP. He did blood tests to see if that brought anything to light and when that came back looking ok, he eventually referred me for an internal scan of my womb/ovaries. That was an interesting experience! Everything came back looking normal though which was a relief.

The doctors advised the next step was for Rob to get tested before any further testing would be done on me. After talking it over we decided that we’d give it another couple of months which would have meant almost a year of trying before we considered any further testing. We were tired of constantly monitoring and worrying about everything and to be honest I was getting exhausted by the disappointment of negative tests.

We went on holiday to Ibiza the following month, had an amazing time, came back, tried to carry on with things not thinking about trying for a baby and within a month I had fallen pregnant! The only thing I’d been kind of looking at in terms of signs of ovulation was my cervical mucus. It had gotten to the egg white fertile stage earlier than it had done in previous cycles – around day 25 – which made me think my period would come earlier than it had been. It didn’t come and I waited ages to test because I didn’t believe I could be pregnant…but I was!

Despite being absolutely over the moon at being pregnant, early pregnancy didn’t treat me well as I suffered from bad morning sickness until I was around 20 weeks. Nothing I did calmed the symptoms; I tried every trick in the book! I also had a bleed and had to have a scan to make sure that everything was ok at around 9 weeks. Next, I was told at my 20 week scan that my placenta was low lying and that it would have to be monitored to see if it moved up in time for a natural birth or not.

We carried on as normal and I started to feel a little better at around 22 weeks. Unfortunately, at 28 weeks I had another bleed and had to call the labour ward as instructed by the midwives. They wanted us to come in and it led to me being admitted for 4 days for investigations. There is a separate, more in depth post on this on my blog if you’re interested.

But after all this here we are now; bump and I are doing really well and I’m settling into the third trimester well. I love all the kicking and constant reminders that baby is in there and continuing to grow and thrive. We now just have to focus on the big house move from London to Portsmouth when I go on maternity leave and of course…the even bigger event…the birth!

Follow Sarah on Twitter @KnottBumpAndUs

 

One thought on “Our bumpy journey – Sarah Knott

Leave a Reply

