Let me introduce myself – ‘Resident Blogger’ Lindsay

RB pic - LindsayPlease welcome Lindsay, one of our brand new Resident Bloggers. Lindsay is blogging her way through her third pregnancy, a little boy due at the end of August. Here she introduces herself so that you might get to know her a little better.

Lindsay blogs at www.newcastlefamilylife.co.uk

Hello, I am Lindsay and I am delighted to be a Blogs for Babies Resident Blogger as I am a bit a lot baby and pregnancy obsessed at the moment – not in a weird stalker kind of way; just in a pregnant mum kind of way.

Anyway, let me introduce myself properly instead of rambling on like a mad woman. I am 30 years old and I live in the north east of England, just north of Newcastle. I am fairly new to blogging as I have only been doing it a few months and I still have a lot to learn but I love it; the blogging community is so lovely. I live with my partner Lee who works full time for a well-known Newcastle based company (hint – they sell sausage rolls and pasties). I have two girls – Chloe, who is 11 years old (yes, I was a teenage mum – it was hard work), and Sophia, who has just turned one. I am also currently 31 weeks pregnant with baby number three – a little boy who is due at the end of August 2014.

This has been my easiest pregnancy so far but it has also been my most complicated, as I am suffering from pregnancy induced high blood pressure. I am on medication for this which could be making baby rather small, so I have to have lots of extra scans and appointments with my consultant and community midwife as I am also at risk of pre-eclampsia. Thankfully, so far everything is going well and baby is healthy and happy.

I am currently a stay at home mum as I left my job earlier this year when my maternity leave ended, as the cost of childcare for two children was just so expensive! I know that I am very lucky to be a stay at home mum but I am finding it strange not working. I used to work as a support worker for adults with learning disabilities and mental health problems in the community. This basically meant I took them on days out and to college, and helped them learn to live independently. It was hard work at times; sometimes you would get tables thrown at you and attacked, but it was also so rewarding and I hope to return to it one day.

In my spare time I enjoy family days out, going for meals, meeting up with my friends on the rare chance that I get to. I used to love reading and going to concerts and travelling but that’s out the window now for the foreseeable future, and it’s more like a read of Peppa Pig, a trip to Haven and a Union J concert . But I don’t mind as I really love being a mum. Sometimes it can be hard work and lonely; you never get a day off or have time to yourself. As for nights out with your friends and designer shoes, ha, you can forget them as all your time and money goes on your children, and you worry about your children nonstop however old they are – I worry about the 11 year old more then the 1 year old.

But I wouldn’t change any of it for the world as it truly is amazing being a mum, watching your children grow and learn and be happy is worth all the sleepless nights and temper tantrums. And I really love being pregnant, feeling a little person that I made wriggling around inside me wondering what he will be like and what he will look like. It truly is magical and so exciting and such a special time in life. I cannot wait to share the rest of my pregnancy journey with Blogs For Babies as we become a family of five.

Follow Lindsay on Twitter @nefamilylife

Leave a Reply

